What Lies Beneath

This morning I checked my email and found I had my first two blog comments ever! One was from Secrets of a Seed Scatterer in Georgia, and the other was from Pam at Digging here in Austin. They found me through Blotanical. Think back to when you first realized that someone was actually looking at your blog and multiply it by a lot to get a sense of my excitement!

I am going to try to do a much better job at this blogging. I started this one weekend when I was sick and haven’t posted since.

Today I began to remove the cardboard that has been covering the garden since last August/September and found some pretty cool specimens. Here is a bunch of snails I uncovered among some sprouting greens that looked like baby spinach. I hope they (the snails) are not harmful since I let them be.

I also found this caterpillar.

It looks like a ball of fuzz, but it really was a caterpillar. I hope it enjoys the butterfly/hummingbird corner.

Mostly what I found beneath the cardboard was Bermuda grass. I was somehow hoping it would have disappeared entirely but there it was taunting me with its interlocking tentacles and deep-rooted outposts. I know every gardener has to go through this conflict-ridden stage of eliminating unwanted Bermuda grass from the garden and I am prepared for a long period of pulling out unwanted grass.

I raked and pulled as the wind blew little pieces all over the rest of the garden. I finally got tired of all this and started setting out the border to see if I liked how it looked. I think I will finish the border of the vertical section (that is what the part along the fence is called) with the concrete blocks and then put willow branch fencing (there is some from the previous owner) alongside to soften the harsh appearance of the concrete. Here is a look at the overall garden plan.

You can see my beloved hammock in the background. It was a little cool when I finished gardening, but I still managed to enjoy a Negra Modelo with some chips and salsa while reclining in the hammock. (I wore a ski jacket.)

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “What Lies Beneath”

  1. Pam/Digging Says:

    I’m happy to have provided one of your first comments. I do remember that first-comment excitement. Frankly, comments are still exciting, four years later. 😉

    Bermuda grass is such a nuisance. I’m not surprised to hear that it survived under your cardboard. I think it would survive a nuclear bomb. Raking may not help though because every piece of root left behind will resprout. Your best bet, short of repeated applications of herbicide, is to dig it out, deeply, getting all the roots. I’d also suggest installing a barrier, like a metal edging strip, between your yard and your neighbors’ to keep it from coming back under the fence. Good luck!

  2. Flowers Says:

    Your blog looks wonderful. It was nice going through your blog. Keep it up the good work. Cheers 🙂

  3. gippslandgardener Says:

    Hello from Australia! I became suspicious while reading your post that Bermuda grass might be something I was quite familiar with by another name – Couch Grass – and sure enough they are both Cynodon dactylon, so I share you pain with a gaden full of it! I was also interested to note when I looked it up that it can also go by the name ‘Devil’s grass’. Very fitting!

  4. redstudio Says:

    Love those fence panels! It is very cool that they are all different. Chips, salsa, and beer, reclining in a hammock and wearing a ski jacket. You are my hero!

    • Ellie Says:

      I love the deck panels also. The people who lived here before me had the deck made by the man who used to live across the street. They have all moved on and I can’t take credit for the awesome work except to love and cherish it. I checked out your site and love your eye for gates.

Leave a Reply

