Is it fall already?

It turns out that I really am the world’s worst blogger. I have many excuses and some pics so please forgive me. I got engaged at the end of June and Bridezilla channeled all my energy and computer time into planning the most special day of my life. But life in the garden went on as usual. Proof is below.

This pic is from July 9 and shows tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, eggplant. They were all delicious.

 

Photo taken on July 24

 

I bought 4 goldfish when I put the plants in the stock tank pond. I think I have about 4 million now. You can see one of the spawn in this photo. There is some strange genetic mixing experiment going on in there and now I have some striped fish and black fish and fish with different colored tails. I’m about to open a carnival game out back with fish as prizes. Come try your luck!

 

 

Photo taken on July 24

 

Here is a little glimpse of the lushness of mid-July. Pepper and tomato plants are in the background.

 

 

Photo taken on July 24

 

I can’t remember if I posted about starting peppers from seeds I picked up at the Chile Pepper Institute at New Mexico State University. Anyway, these peppers are NuMex 6-4 (or something like that) and they are major producers! I had my own little Hatch chile roasting fest one weekend morning.The freezer is full of roasted chiles, pastes, and salsas.

 

 

Photo taken on August 6

 

I went on the Wimberley Garden Tour with a friend who lives out there and we grabbed lunch at the Thyme and Dough Cafe on 290. There is a garden shop attached and the owner’s five year old son is a budding gardener. For a whopping 50 cents I bought a tiny little cantaloupe plant he had started from seed and planted it in the garden. I think we got a total of 6 beautiful cantaloupe from it in August and a few more are ripening on the vine as I write. The fall rains revived the plant and it flowered once again. They are so good!

 

 

Photo taken on October 5

 

I think this might be the last of the summer harvest. I went out to the garden the other night to grab a few okra pods before they got too big and stringy and found lots of peppers and a gorgeous eggplant. Neglect does a garden good!

7 Responses to “Is it fall already?”

  1. Iris/Society Garlic, Austin Says:

    You got engaged–how exciting! For being in full Bridezilla mode, you sure did grow lots of beautiful produce. I like your pond, too.

  2. The Dirt on Soil Says:

    Congratulations!!!! We’re so happy for you!

    Very good excuse for not writing 🙂

    • Ellie Says:

      Thanks! We are keeping it pretty simple but there is still a lot to do! I ordered my dress online and already have my shoes so there isn’t too much left so it is back to the garden for me!

  3. Bob Pool Says:

    That cantaloupe looks pretty good, my favorite thing to grow in a vegi garden. I have a few left on my vines as well and a few tomatoes. We are mainly covered up in bell peppers right now. The fall crop of beans is just starting to bloom. Next year you need to plan on planting a fall garden, the best time to grow vegi’s. Next year, you know, when you will be married. Congratulations, but I can’t imagine you, a bridezilla. Your too cute, quiet and polite. Bridezillas are always ugly, loud and rude.

    • Ellie Says:

      Hi Bob! Maybe I am not a mean Bridezilla but there are a lot of things involved in wedding planning! I definitely will be planting a fall garden next year. I cleaned lots of old plants out over the weekend and will put in my greens soon. I have lots of peppers too!

  4. Linda Lehmusvirta Says:

    Wow, congratulations on your marriage! Hey, that’s a super reason to not blog. I’m totally impressed with your vegetable harvest and goldfish harvest. We had the hardest time keeping them alive in our stock tank, but it was smaller than yours.

    And thank you for joining us Nov. 30 for Botany of Desire. It will be super to see you again and catch up. We’ll have so much fun. Thank you for volunteering! Linda

Leave a Reply

